Local Food

The School Food Project is excited to be partnering with local farmers and producers to give kids a taste of fresh, Colorado-grown fruits and vegetables!

​What does local mean?

BVSD gives preference in its food purchasing to growers, producers and processors in Boulder and Broomfield counties, Colorado; then to the surrounding counties (Gilpin, Grand, Larimer, Clear Creek, Arapahoe, Douglas, Weld); then to other areas of Colorado. BVSD’s local purchasing is generally accomplished through direct relationships with farms, dairies, and producers; Food Service works with growers and producers many months in advance to time menu offerings with local harvests. That said, it’s important to recognize that fifty-six percent of Colorado’s total land is over 10,000 feet in elevation, thus limiting areas for production as well as growing seasons. Certain requirements cannot be fulfilled within Colorado (e.g. citrus fruits); in these cases, we go for best/quality price with lowest transportation costs. 

Why Local?

Eating local is healthier. Healthier for you and healthier for the planet. The average grocery item travels 1,500 miles through the supply chain before landing in your local store. Eating locally is good for the environment by reducing the carbon footprint of the food you consume. Local food is fresher, which makes it both tastier and healthier.

Did you know that produce begins to lose nutritional value once it is picked? Eating locally ensures higher quality and higher nutrition content. Eating locally also helps support local farmers, farmland and the local economy. For every dollar spent purchasing local food, the community will realize $2-3 in economic development benefits. Plus it is just fun to get to know your local farmer! Stop by your neighborhood farmers market and get to know the people who grew your food.

Eat Local, Eat Seasonal

Eating locally means eating seasonally, especially in a state like Colorado, which doesn't support year-round growing. Seasonal food is just that - food that is purchased and consumed around the same time of the year that it is harvested. Seasonal produce is picked at the peak of freshness, ensuring a higher nutritional value than fruits and vegetables picked out of season, packaged, preserved and shipped across the country. A seasonal diet provides your body with varying vitamins, minerals and antioxidants that change with the seasons to benefit your overall health.

Looking for a way to support or learn more about local food? Check out our calendar of local food events below.

Know of an event we should add? Email us.

InfographicL BVSD is a Good Food Provider
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Jul 28
Produce in the Park
-
Sat, Aug 3
Boulder Farmers Market
-
Longmont Farmers Market
-
Louisville Farmers Market
-
Boulder County Fair
-
Ollin Farm Dinner
-
Sun, Aug 4
National Farmers Market Week
-
Boulder County Fair
-
Sat, Aug 10
Boulder Farmers Market
-
Longmont Farmers Market
-
Louisville Farmers Market
-
Boulder County Fair
-
Sun, Aug 11
Boulder County Fair
-
Oxford Gardens Farm Dinners
-
Mon, Aug 12
Tue, Aug 13
Wed, Aug 14
Boulder Farmers Market
-
Blackbelly Farm Dinner
-
Thu, Aug 15
Erie Farmers Market
-
Fri, Aug 16
Sat, Aug 17
Boulder Farmers Market
-
Longmont Farmers Market
-
Lafayette Peach Festival
-
Louisville Farmers Market
-
Ollin Farm Dinner
-
Sun, Aug 18
Mon, Aug 19
Tue, Aug 20
Wed, Aug 21
Boulder Farmers Market
-
A Spice of Life Farm Dinner
-
Thu, Aug 22
Erie Farmers Market
-
Fri, Aug 23
Sat, Aug 24
Boulder Farmers Market
-
Longmont Farmers Market
-
Louisville Farmers Market
-
Growing Gardens Farm Gala
-
Oxford Gardens Farm Dinners
-
Sun, Aug 25
Produce in the Park
-
Ollin Farm Dinner
-
Mon, Aug 26
Tue, Aug 27
Wed, Aug 28
Boulder Farmers Market
-
Sugar Pine Farm Dinner
-
Thu, Aug 29
Erie Farmers Market
-
Fri, Aug 30
Sat, Aug 31
Boulder Farmers Market
-
Longmont Farmers Market
-
Louisville Farmers Market
-
Ollin Farm Dinner
-